Panvel, Bhiwandi Nizampur, Malegaon municipal corporation elections 2017: Polling dates announced; key facts to know

Panvel Muncipal Elections 2017

Mumbai, April 20: The polling dates for municipal corporation elections for Panvel, Bhiwandi Nizampur and Malegaon were declared on Wednesday. The voting would be conducted in a single phase on May 23, announced State Election Commission. The polling results of all the three civic bodies would be announced on May 26, SEC further added.

The second phase of Maharashtra civic elections is currently underway. Out of the 18 municipal corporations which were to be contested this year, voting was held in 10 civic bodies in February. The election for remaining 8 corporations have been initiated, with voting conducted in Latur, Parbhani and Chandrapur on Wednesday. While Bhiwandi, Malegaon and Panvel would be contested next month, the elections for Mira Bhayender and Nanded municipal corporation elections would be held by August and November respectively.

Voting in Panvel, Bhiwandi and Malegaon would be conducted using the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) without Voter Verified Paper Audit Trial, confirmed State Election Commissioner JS Saharia. SEC has written to the government, seeking a budgetery allocation of Rs 1.86 crore for the procurement of 700 VVPAT machines.

Key facts to know

About Bhiwandi-Nizampur municipal corporation:

Also referred to as BNMC, the Bhiwandi-Nizampur municipal corporation was formed in 2002. Currently, the civic body is being ruled by Shiv Sena-Congress combine. The result of 2012 elections compelled the two parties to ink a post-poll pact.

BNMC Election Results 2012:

Party Name Number of Corporators
Indian National Congress (INC) 26
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 08
Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 09
Shiv Sena (SS) 16
Other State Parties 16
Other Registered Parties 08
Independents 07
Total 90

Yogesh Mhase was appointed as the BNMC Commissioner by the state government, whereas, Tushar Chowdhary was elected as the Mayor.

About Malegaon municipal corporation

Malegaon municipal corporation caters to a largely Muslim-dominated region situated in Dhule district of Western Maharashtra. Congress, which was initially the most dominant force in Malegaon, now faces a challenge from NCP and other smaller parties. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is also expected to contest in the upcoming polls.

Malegaon civic poll results 2012:

Party Name Number of Corporators
Indian National Congress (INC) 25
Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 22
Shiv Sena (SS) 11
Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) 02
Other State Parties 05
Other Registered Parties 20
Independents 09

Congress, along with a third front (Teesra Mahaz) formed by independents and NCP rebels, ruled the corporation. Haji Mohmmad Ibrahim of Teesra Mahaz was elected as the Mayor.

About Panvel municipal corporation

The civic body was established by the Maharashtra government in October last year. The upcoming polls would be the first ever election for the corporation. The Panvel municipal corporation is 9th urban civic body in Mumbai Metropolitan Region, whereas, 27th in Maharashtra. 29 revenue villages of Panvel taluka would come under its purview. The corporation would cover a total area of 110 sq km, including the localities of Taloja, Kharghar, Kalamboli and Kamothe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here